Briefly explain what is software Testing Life Cycle (STLC)?

Questions by Sohini   answers by Sohini

Showing Answers 1 - 21 of 21 Answers

Software Testing Life cylce is as follows:

1. Test Plan Prepation ( Prepare Test Plan based on Project Summary Document and SRS document)

2. Test Specifications Prepration(Test cases preparation based on Requirement document,use cases,mockup-links(in web based testing) etc)

4. Test Execution-----> 

                       To Perform Manual or Automation based on client requirement and software stability

            a. Manaul Testing

            b. Automation Testing

4. Defect Reporting and Tracking

Test development life cycle contains the following components:

1.Requirements 2.Test Plan 3.Test case 4. Test case execution 5.Report Analysis 6.Bug Analysis 7.Bug Report


  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Mar 16th, 2006


2) Analysing document

3)Test plan

4)Test cases

5)Test execution

6)Defect mailing


7) Tracking the defect

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Mar 22nd, 2006

what is exactly a mockup link ..Give an example..

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Apr 27th, 2006

Software Testing Life Cycle is : it's Preprocess before testing the Product is call Testing Life Cycle

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

ravi sharma

  • Feb 16th, 2007

STLC has following contents;1- S.R.S.2- Test planning3- Test specification4- test execution5- Test recording6- completion

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Mar 9th, 2007

The various phases involved in testing, with regard to the software development life cycle are:

1. Requirements stage

      2. Test Plan

           3. Test Design.

               4. Design Reviews

                   5. Code Reviews

                       6. Test Cases preparation.

                           7. Test Execution

                               8. Test Reports.

                                   9. Bugs Reporting

                                      10. Reworking on patches.

                                           11. Release to production.

Any doubts regarding this please mail me.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Test Plan Preparation:  Defines overall testing approach.Test Case Design: Defines what is to be tested and describes the expected results.Test Execution: Execute the test casesTest Log Preparation: Defines the pass and Fail informationDefect Tracking: All fail item are tracked Test Report: Defines the result of overall test Execution

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Aug 16th, 2007

What do you mean by Reworking on patches is it mandatory in STLC

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Sep 4th, 2007

1. Life cycle testing means performing test throughout the system development cycle, not just at the end before implementation.
2. In other words,
Life Cycle testing involves continuous testing of the solution even after the software plans are complete and the tested system implement.
3. And one more.
At predetermined points during the life cycle, the system is tested to ensure that it is being developed properly and that defects are detected at the earliest possible point the life cycle.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

The Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC) represents all of the phases related to testing throughout the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC).  These phases largely depend on the SDLC employed by the company.  Generally speaking, the STLC can be represented by the following phases of activity:

1) Test Planning: evaluatiing requirements
2) Test Development: creating test cases
3) Text Execution: running test cases
4) Regression Testing: verifying system as a whole functions properly
5) Test Reporting: providing feedback to stakeholders
6) Defect Analysis: determining what needs to be fixed, postponed, etc.
7) Defect Retesting: verifiying fixes
8) Defect Recovery: activities to recover from problems found in production
9) Test Closure: all activities performed when test project is completed


  • Feb 6th, 2010

STLC means all the sequential testing activities that take place from the Requirements stage till the Acceptance Testing completion.  This wont inlcude Design review, Code review etc.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Feb 16th, 2011

Trouble with acronyms is that they date you and often a young tech talking to the DBA may not be talking about the same thing.

I'm ancient compared with you guys but I may have a different answer for you..

SDLC is an IBM Data Ptotocol used in huge high end DataCentres and for Satelite Transmittions
SDLC: Synchronous Data Link Control by IBM

I'll also point you in the direction of Seriously Huge IBM Mainframe sites that use STLC to also be quite different


  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Devender Mella

  • Oct 3rd, 2011

STLC is one of the methodology in SDLC.In STLC have different type of phases .
Phases are follows:

1. Test Plan Preparation ( Prepare Test Plan based on Project Summary Document and SRS document)

2. Test Specifications Preparation(Test cases preparation based on Requirement document,use cases,mockup-links(in web based testing) etc)

3. Test Execution----->

To Perform Manual or Automation based on client requirement and software stability

a. Manual Testing

b. Automation Testing

4. Defect Reporting and Tracking

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Dec 14th, 2011

IT is procedure to test a s/w or product or application.
the different phases involved in STLC are:
1. System study
2. Write test plan.
3. Write test cases.
4. Prepare traceability matrix.
5. Test execution.
6. Defect tracking.
7. Prepare test execution report.
8. Retrospect meeting.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


STLC basically contains of five stages :

1) Planning and control
2) Analysis and Design
3) Implementation and Execution
4) Evaluating Exit criteria and Reporting
5) Test Closure Activities


  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Oct 13th, 2014

do you mean software testing life cycle

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Feb 8th, 2015

1.Testplaning and control
2.Analysis and design
3.Implementation And Execution
4.Evalution and reporting

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Azad khan

  • Mar 12th, 2015

The phenomenon of executing the testing activities in systematic and planed way is called software testing life cycle..

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Give your answer:

If you think the above answer is not correct, Please select a reason and add your answer below.

Answer Question

Click here to Login / Register your free account

Send   Reset


Related Answered Questions


Related Open Questions