What is flex field qualifier? Explain the types of flex field qualifiers

Questions by vijayapps

Showing Answers 1 - 10 of 10 Answers

Manish Upadhyay

  • Apr 3rd, 2007

There are 4 types Qualifiers

Cost Center Segment
Natural Account Segment
Balancing Segment
Intercompany Segment

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Oct 10th, 2007

Types of Flexfiels qualifiers:

Natural Accounting
Balancing segment
Cost Centre
Secondary tracking

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Dec 28th, 2007

There are 4 types Qualifiers

Cost Center Segment
Natural Account Segment
Balancing Segment
Intercompany Segment

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Jan 27th, 2008

Oracle Applications require flexfield qualifiers for some of the key flex field structures.

There are total of four segment qualifiers
a) balancing segment
b) natural account segment
c) cost center segment
d) intercompany segment

Balancing segment - determines the segment level at which a balanced financial transaction occurs. Meaning total debits must equal to total credits. Typically COMPANY segment would be your balancing segment.

Natural segment - Natural segment is nothing but the account heads type. In other words, natural segment determines the account type. There are five types of account types assets, liabilities, expenses, revenue and owner's equity. Typically ACCOUNT segment would be your natural segment.


Flexfield qualifiers are required for certain key flexfield segments.

For example) each accounting flexfield structure requires two segments qualifiers which are balancing segment and natural account segment

Arshdeep Singh

  • Dec 26th, 2013

Basically it is of 5 types-
Balancing segment.
Accounting segment.
Intercompany segment.
management reporting.
Cost center segment.
and we have one spare for future references.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

thirupathi jetty

  • Apr 17th, 2014

Actual behavior of the segments are controlled or determined by flex field qualifiers.

we have 6 flex field qualifiers 3 mandatory and 3 optional

1. balancing segment (mandatory)
2. cost center segment (mandatory)
3. natural account segment (mandatory)
4. Inter company segment (optional)
5. secondary segment (optional)
6. Management segment (optional).

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Apr 29th, 2015

There are 5 flex field are there?
1. Balancing segment value
2. Natural accounting segment value
3. cost center segment value
4. inter company segment value
5. Management segment value

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Oct 27th, 2015

Flex field qualifiers describes the purpose of the segments. There 6 types of qualifiers are there
1. Cost center segment values
2. Natural Account segment values
3. Balancing segment values
4. Inter-company
5. Management
6. Secondary tracking


  • May 13th, 2016

Cost Center Segment is Optional. Balancing Segment which we usually give to Company segment and Natural Account Segment which we usually give to Account segment are mandatory.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Jun 22nd, 2021

Fa and inv means in Oracle R12 application

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Give your answer:

If you think the above answer is not correct, Please select a reason and add your answer below.


Related Answered Questions


Related Open Questions