Manual testing V Model

How do you explain V Model in manual testing?

Questions by Kashifrafique1

Showing Answers 1 - 7 of 7 Answers


  • Jul 22nd, 2009

In V-Model, manual testers will do the following.

Left side is development activity and Right side is manual testing activity

Req.Preparation - Preparation for user acceptance test cases
High Level Design - Preparation of system test cases
Low level design - Preparation of Integration test cases
Component Design - Preparation of Functional test cases
Coding - Preparation of functional test cases.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

                      V model

User acceptance testing
Gray box testing
Black box or system testing
Unit Testing
SRS is software requirement specification

CDD is comprehensive design document
contains high level and low documents
HLD is high level document 
LLD is low level document.

Gray box testing - Combination of white box and black box testing

Unit testing - White box testing

Update me if I am incorrect.

The V-model is a graphical representation of the system development lifecycle. It summarizes the main steps to be taken in conjunction with the corresponding deliverables within computerized system validation framework.

The left tail of the V represents the specification stream where the system specifications are defined. The right tail of the V represents the testing stream where the systems are being tested (against the specifications defined on the left-tail). The bottom of the V where the tails meet, represents the development stream.

The specification stream mainly consists of:

  • User Requirement Specifications
  • Functional Specifications
  • Design Specifications

The testing stream generally consists of:

  • Installation Qualification
  • Operational Qualification
  • Performance Qualification

The development stream can consist (depending on the system type and the development scope) in customization, configuration or coding

Business Case  <------------------------------->   Release Testing
    v                                         ^
     v                                                   ^
      v                                                 ^
   Requirements  <---------------------------> Acceptance Testing
     v                              ^
          v                                           ^
            v                                         ^
    System Specification<----------------> System Testing
            v                          ^
             v                         ^
              v                                 ^
          System Design  <-----------> Interface Testing
                v                          ^
                 v                         ^
                  v                        ^
              Component Design<----> Component Testing
                    v                      ^
                     v                   ^
                      v                    ^
                       Construct Componet

Note:I tried to represent the V- model by using v & ^, i dono how its viewed

  Was this answer useful?  Yes


  • Sep 22nd, 2011

SRS Acceptance Testing
High level Design System Testing
Low Level Design Integration Testing
Component Design Unit Testing
Coding Preparation of Test case

A software development model that illustrates how testing activities integrate with software development phases

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

ravi yadav

  • Oct 8th, 2011

In the V Model SDLC, both the Development activity and the testing activities start almost at the same time with the same information. The development team does design and development and test team does the Test planning, scripting and testing. It?s a parallel process for both development and testing. This model steps are quite similar to waterfall model. This is the one of the most popular model of software test life cycle.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

As the word suggests "V Model" has two parts i.e. "" which contains the development activities i.e. SDLC (Software Development Life Cycle) and "/" which contains the associated testing activities i.e. STLC (Software Testing Life Cycle).

Here every development activity has its corresponding testing activity.
Testing activity starts here as soon as possible with verifying the SRS documents itself.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Give your answer:

If you think the above answer is not correct, Please select a reason and add your answer below.


Related Answered Questions


Related Open Questions