2 batsman are on 94. 2 balls remaining and 7 runs to win. both batsman make 100 & win the match.

This question is related to Infosys Interview

Editorial / Best Answer

Answered by: balaji

  • Apr 12th, 2007


one batsman hit the ball and going for single and because of continious over throw he got 6 runs and got out while going for 7. so he is out for 100. the team need one run to win.
the new batsman come in at the non striker end and the other batsman hit 6 and get the hundred.

Showing Answers 1 - 38 of 38 Answers

balaji

  • Apr 12th, 2007
 

one batsman hit the ball and going for single and because of continious over throw he got 6 runs and got out while going for 7. so he is out for 100. the team need one run to win.
the new batsman come in at the non striker end and the other batsman hit 6 and get the hundred.

Shahnshah

  • Feb 10th, 2008
 

 Team A, Team B, Team C, Team D.

Team A playing with Team B...
Team C playing with Team D...

Team A: Batsman "a" is on striker side and Batsman "aa" on non-striker side..
Team C: Batsman "c" is on striker side and Batsman "cc" on non-striker side..

> Batsman "a" is on 94. 2 balls remaining and 7 runs to win. Batsman "a" hits 4 on first ball and two runs on second ball.

> Batsman "c" is on 94. 2 balls remaining and 7 runs to win. Batsman "a" hits 4 on first ball and two runs on second ball.

Team A got victory from Team B & Team C got victory from Team D.
Both Batsman on 94 completed thier century from 2 balls and thier team won the match....

   

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

ajeet7171

  • Apr 14th, 2008
 

striker batsman hits the ball for 3 run but when he runs he made 1 run short and fielder throw the ball and batsman  gets 4  more run by through by.by this he got 6 run and nonstriker batsman will reach at striker end and he made 6 runs at last ball.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

giri260987

  • Apr 17th, 2008
 

1)The batsman facing last before ball scored one run by placing the ball back to the keeper.
2) The ball hits the keepers helmet placed in the ground.
3) So the umpire signals 5 runs penality. This is added in batsman's score. So he made century and now he is in non strikers end and the scores are level.
4) The batsman facing last ball hits six and he too scored century and win the match

sulaiman007

  • May 20th, 2008
 

Striker batsman hits the ball for 3 run but when he runs, one fielder throw the ball and the batsman  completed onother 3 runs  by "Over-throw". When they go for fourth run, the Stricker batsman got run out who already completed his 100!...The NonStricker batsman will reach at striker end and he made 6 runs in last ball to complete his 100.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

balasah

  • May 30th, 2008
 

If the striker hits a four in a No ball, then he will get a free - hit and now 2 runs needed in 2 balls. If the striker hits for tuple and got runout in the second run,then the striker is on 100 but still 1 more run is needed in 1 ball. Now the non striker who is on 94 will now face the ball and hits a six which ends the match with two batsmen reaching their respective centuries.

we dont require any free hit concept here.
first batsman hits the ball and runs three ,there was an overthrow so he runs three more and he became run out when he was coming back for the fourth.now the batsman has got gis century and he's out.now 1 run to win from 1 ball.the batsman on strike is  the man on 94.he hits a six and wraps up the game ,thus finishing his century too.

or if u dont wanna run any of the batsman out, then let the first batsman run 4 in the overthrow, but 1 run short(,i.e he didnt groung his bat inside  the crease while running 1 of the 4 runs in the overthrow).so het gets 6 runs and other batsman comes in strike too.now he hits a six and finish the match,and comples his century.

It may be last ball of that over. The batsman (say A) on strike makes 6 runs. After that over gets over they change their position. So another batsman (say B)will be on striking end. He makes 6 runs. so both make century and they win the match.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

rchennam

  • Mar 2nd, 2009
 

One no ball Hit 4 and after that another ball hit 1 more  run. Player 1 hit 6 runs in one no ball and one ball. This guy hit 6 runs,
Next player turns come, in one ball, he hit 6 runs. Both player makes 100 runs and win the match

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

praneed

  • Apr 3rd, 2009
 

The first batsman hits a six, and mean while he rotates the strike. As he was hurt while hitting the six, he would be replace the another batsman, and the next ball would be faced by the second batsman.He hits six and match is won and both get their 100s

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

arjuntg310

  • Jul 29th, 2009
 

Batsmen hits the ball to a fielder and runs for a single. The fielder who caught the ball throws it to wicket keeper (which is placed behind the stumps). Wicket keeper fails to catch the ball and ball hit the helmet. 5 runs awarded as over throw 2 batsmen + 1 single he scored gets him 2 a century. Now score is 1 ball 1 run to win and batsmen who is also at 94 is at strike and he will hit it for a 6.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Suppose match is reduced to 49.1 overs

batsman on strike hit a 6 on last ball of 49th over (100 complete) strike changes another batsman hits 6 on very first ball (100 complete)

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

First batsman strike and run 3 runs and then they run another 4 runs by overthrow but unfortunately before finishing 4th run the sriker is out then the next ball face by another 94 run batsman strike the six and win the match this time both batsman got century and also use only two balls with 7 runs target.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Nidhin.c

  • Jan 11th, 2010
 

First batsmen hits the ball and will be running...while running 7th run he will be ran out so the strke is on the other batsmen....then he will hit a sixer...

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

mustak_b

  • Jan 25th, 2010
 

1 ball: batsman A hits for 4
2 ball: batsman A hits for 3 runs, however it ends with 1 short run   so total of A is 4+2=6 =>94+6=100
3 ball: batsman B(since they ran 3 runs) hits for 6 so total of B is: 94+6=100

very simple.. if i m not wrong.. ;-)

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Gillyweed

  • Aug 20th, 2010
 

First batsman takes 2 runs with one short. Also an overthrow in boundary is made by fielding side. 1st batsman gets 100. Now the 2nd batsman (batting due to the one short) hits a 6 to get his 100.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

shoebshakir

  • Aug 24th, 2010
 

First batsman hit six, so he scored 100. Then he was retired hurt due to strain in muscle & replaced by another batsman who retired earlier on 94. So at last ball he also hit six & scored 100.
They won the match

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

nasim akhtar

  • Jul 19th, 2014
 

1st ball four..


2nd ball hit 3 run but 1 batsman didn't touch the crease so batsman will get 2 run &(get his century) instead of 3 because of short run rule.. But they will change the strike 3rd n final ball hit for a six n complete his century n won the match as well..


  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Krishna Pratap Singh

  • Mar 19th, 2015
 

sriker hits the ball , goes for 2 runs , attemping for 3rd , the ball misfielded nd goes for 4 , the striker went to non strike then the non striker hits 6

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

aa

  • Apr 30th, 2015
 

hitting helmet doesnt add to batsman score. adds to team score

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Rakesh Kumar Sharma

  • May 19th, 2015
 

First Batsman takes 3 runs and get four run extra through over throw also he takes a short run in his last run up. It means he scored 2+4=6 runs. Strike will be changed. Now next batsman will hit 6 runs. Now both batsman completes their 100.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Ashok Reddy

  • Jun 25th, 2015
 

He hits the ball and takes 3 runs. Due to over throw it has gone to 4. total 7. He did'nt put the bat on crease for one run so short run. so 6 ... he is on non strike. The other batsmen hit six on last ball. Both get 100s.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

tushar

  • Jul 18th, 2015
 

Simple answer: Match is 49.1 overs because of rain. Last 2 balls means 48.5 and 49.1 then. A hit six and got his century then over finish means 48.6 then new over start 49.1 balls and b is on strikes then his also hit 6 runs and got his century. Match also win two players will make his 100 runs.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

He hits the ball and takes 3 runs. Due to over throw it has gone to 4. total 7. He didnt put the bat on crease for one run so short run. so 6 ... he is on non strike. The other batsmen hit six on last ball. Both get 100s.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

vinith sekar

  • Aug 6th, 2015
 

First batsman hit a four in no ball umpire says no ball and gives free hit total run is 5 and the batsman on strike hit 1 run now he scored hundred and the another batsman has one ball 6 runs to win he hits a six and finish the match with century...

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Pratham Jaiswal

  • Nov 22nd, 2015
 

There is a rule in cricket that only few people know. If a batsman hit the ball directly onto a wicket-keepers helmet (which while not being utilized is kept on the ground behind the wicket-keeper) he is awarded 5 runs. So the batsman on strike needs to hit the ball directly on the wicket-keepers helmet kept on ground and then run for a single, completing his hundred! Now the next batsman on strike hits a six to complete his century!

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Veera

  • Nov 24th, 2015
 

Last ball of the over, batsman hits 6 so he completed his 100 and at the same time, over is completed but still match has required one runt to win so another over first ball hits 6 and complete another bats man 100 ...
Match wins.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

LogicalIndia

  • Dec 16th, 2015
 

The answer is so simple. Really Simple... you will be surprised.!

The first ball goes for 4.

The second ball. They take 3 runs, but one is a short run. So 2 runs. Century for batsman 1.

The third ball, the Batsman 2 is on strike and hits a 6 to complete his century.

Done, both batsman score centuries....! Without losing a wicket...!

SO SIMPLE

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

RAJ

  • Jun 28th, 2016
 

One Run Short But Strike Change.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

James Martin

  • Nov 7th, 2016
 

First batsman hits 2 runs & attempts a third run. Fielder throws at stumps, misses, 4 overthrows. Umpire signals 1 short run form either batter failing to ground bat in crease on one of first 2 runs. 6 runs scored=100. Other batter then hits a 6 off last ball.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Katta Aravind

  • Nov 26th, 2016
 

Each batman will take a six and win the match.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

bhanu kumar

  • Apr 4th, 2017
 

One batsman hits a four. But that is a no ball. Next ball he takes a single, completes his hundred. One run is needed to win. Another batsman comes to bat, hits a six and completes his hundred & Won the match.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Harikrishna

  • Jun 14th, 2017
 

First batsman hit 6 and for second ball he try to go for big hit and got out but other batsman got strike and then he hit 6.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Shameem Ahmed

  • Jun 14th, 2017
 

1 ball 4 runs the 2nd ball he hit and took 3 runs in which 1 run is short so run count is 2 and he got his century now the strike is with other batsman 3rd ball he hit a six both got not out on 100*

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Nikhil

  • Jul 16th, 2017
 

Bowler throws a no ball and the batsman hit the boundary(4), means he scored 5 runs. Now they still have 2 balls left, on 1 ball batsman took single and on another one, other batsman hits a 6, both scored 100 and team won

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Subhankar singha

  • Aug 18th, 2017
 

The batsman hit the ball, the keeper missed it and touched his helmet,the batsman got 5 runs as penalty and moved to 99, next ball he took a single and made century, with one run needed the other man also hit a six in the last ball to complete his century, and the team won.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

jay mehta

  • Oct 8th, 2017
 

1st batsman hit a six on the last ball of the over and got to his hundred so still 1 run is remaining to win . Now the other batsman again hits a six on the first ball of the next over so he also gets to his 100 AND they win the match.

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

S rajeevreddy

  • Nov 4th, 2017
 

Match stopped due to rain so D/L Formula the target is 2 balls 7 runs to win match is restarted at 37.5 so that over last ball striker is hit the six and over completed and new over 45.1 first ball another batsman hit the six then both batsmen complete the 100 and target is completed

  Was this answer useful?  Yes

Give your answer:

If you think the above answer is not correct, Please select a reason and add your answer below.

 

Related Answered Questions

 

Related Open Questions