Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: menu item list

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Answers
    4

    menu item list

    I have a windows GUI (not web page) and a file menu I need to recognize (it is custom code so I dont know the 'underlying' name of the object. How do I recognize and determine how many sub menu options are in it.

    Im expecting to call 'something' and get a number back, indicating I have 9 menus underneath the main 'File' menu option.


  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Answers
    10

    Re: menu item list

    I have a quick question; Can you use object spy on each of the menu items and see if there is a number of items that is equal to the physically count of the items in that menu command?

    If there is, then I will suggest descriptive programming since it is a custom code.

    Are you able to use objectspy on this object at all?


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Answers
    4

    Re: menu item list

    I can use the object spy for the icons but the menu just returns the top level object, and the line in the code;

    Window("X9.37 Editor").WinMenu("Menu")

    tells me that "Menu" is not a recognized object. I cannot tell if "Menu" is a place holder or a generic object name. Is there a call to tell me what the WinMenu name should be?

    Appreciate the help.


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Answers
    10

    Re: menu item list

    I think I know what you are saying now.

    If you click on each of the items in the menu while recording, do they still give you the top level object?

    I'm guessing not. But let me know what you is being recorded after you select each of the items in the menu. If they are different, you may need to use descriptive programming to identify them. The properties may be changing everytime you run it.


  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Answers
    4

    Re: menu item list

    Thanks, your comment about recording gave me the pointer to the problem. I think I was in expert view too long (Robot only has this view), the Keyword view gave me the full description of how to call the menu options. I guess its still odd that the application object doesnt show the '+' sign to indicate all the associated objects (menues, icons, subwindows). Thanks again for your help.


  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Answers
    10

    Re: menu item list

    Not a problem Dave. Just helping another North Carolinian.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Applying for a job can be a stressful and frustrating experience, especially for someone who has never done it before. Considering that you are competing for the position with a at least a dozen other applicants, it is imperative that you thoroughly prepare for the job interview, in order to stand a good chance of getting hired. That's where GeekInterview can help.
Interact