Thread: Shell Scripting questions

Geek_Guest

Shell Scripting questions

Question asked by straakaatt9

I'm just learning how to write shell scripts and I need your help in solving a couple of scripting questions: Here goes,

1. Write a command line that will count the number of daemon processes?
    2. Write a command line that will display a sorted list of logged-in users using the sed command?
    3. Write a script to remove all space characters stored in the shell variable called text, using the tr command.
    4. Same as #3 using the sed command instead of the tr command?
    5. Write script to count number of characters stored in shell variable called count=?
    6. Write program to assign unique lines in the file called names to a shell variable called namelist?

Answers

Re: Shell Scripting questions

1) Process table in unix does not have any identification for the type of process. And the daemon process is nothing but the process running in a loop. So I do not think there is a way to list the daemon processes in a single command line.
    5) echo $count|wc -c
    I will work on other questions and get back.

Answers

1. ps -eaf | wc -l
    2. who | sort -k 3 (sed is stream editor , you can edit file using sort)
    3. echo " This is Kunal ." | tr -d "[:space:]"
    echo " This is Kunal ." | tr -d ' '
    4. echo " this is kunal ." | sed 's/ *//g'
    5. echo " This is Kunal ." | wc -c (c for character count and l for line count)
    6. I cant understand your 6 question

Quote Originally Posted by Geek_Guest View Post
    Question asked by straakaatt9

I'm just learning how to write shell scripts and I need your help in solving a couple of scripting questions: Here goes,

1. Write a command line that will count the number of daemon processes?
    2. Write a command line that will display a sorted list of logged-in users using the sed command?